Property Registration? Which state do you belong to?

Stamp and registration charges are charged by the state government on your property. Usually it is calculated on the cost of the property. This is penny-pinching for many of us, as loan is granted excluding this by the nationalised banks, though some NBFCs might opt. So, when you calculate your finances, put this expenditure too on the paper

.registration charges_loanyantra

It varies from state to state. However, registration of Property is compulsory in any case. Registration of the property is a full and final agreement signed between two parties. Once a property is registered, it means that the property buyer in whose favor the property is registered is the lawful owner of the premises and is fully responsible for it in all respects.

The registration of property is to be done in the Registrar’s Offices by the Sub-Registrar. One has to present the Sale Deed in the concerned Sub-Registrar Office where the land is situated and then have to pay prescribed fee of stamp and registration charges. Once the registration is complete, the purchaser has to apply to the local municipal authority to get the title of the property concerned transferred to his/her name. This is commonly referred to as mutation of the title of the property.

Here is the list with respect to the different states.

Stamp Duty and Registration Fee
Criteria Stamp Duty Registration Fees
Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Sale Deed 4% 0.50%
Andhra Pradesh and Telangana Government website
Conveyance Deed (gift, mortgage, lease etc.) 5% 0.50%
Maharashtra Within Municipal Corporation boundary 5% 1%
Money Control website
Within Municipal Council boundary 4% 1%
Within Gram Panchayat boundary 3% 1%
Odisha None 7% 2% Orissa Government website
Tamil Nadu None 7% 1% Tamil Nadu Government website
Karnataka None 5% 1% Karnataka Government website
Goa None 7% 1% Goa Government website
Gujarat None 3.50% 1.05% Gujarat Government website
Rajasthan General 5% 1%
Rajasthan Government website
Female 4% 1%
Disabled 4% 1%
Punjab None 6% 1% Punjab Government website
Sale Deed
Within Municipal boundary
Male 7%
From Rs 1 – Rs 50,000 It is Rs. 100. From Rs 50,001 – Rs 1,00,000 it is Rs. 500. From Rs 1,00,001 – Rs 5,00,000 it is Rs. 1,000. From Rs 5,00,001 – Rs 10,00,000 it is Rs. 5,000. From Rs 10,00,001- Rs 20,00,000 it is Rs. 10,000. From Rs 20,00,001- Rs 2500000 it is Rs. 12,500. Above Rs 25 Lacs it is Rs. 15,000.
Haryana Government website
Female 5%
Outside Municipal boundary
Male 5%
Female 3%
Conveyance Deed
Within Municipal boundary 7%
Outside Municipal boundary 5%
Uttar Pradesh None 12.50% 2% Uttar Pradesh Government website
Delhi Male 5% 1%
Delhi Government website
Female 3% 1%
Madhya Pradesh None 8% 1% Madhya Pradesh Government
Chattisgarh None 7.50% 1% Chattisgarh Government website
Jharkhand None 4% 3% Jharkhand Government website
West Bengal Within Municipal boundary 6% 1.10%
West Bengal Government website
Outside Municipal boundary 5% 1.10%
Manipur None 4% 3% Mizoram Government website
Sikkim None 4% 3% Sikkim Government website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.